Contact Us

Dennett House, 11 Middle Street
Taunton, Somerset, TA1 1SH

Find Us

Tel: 01823 270101                    
Email: info@swcouncils.gov.uk

The Team


Housing and Regeneration Board

This Joint Board for the South West has been set up to advise the Strategic Leaders Board, Regional Development Agency Board and the Homes and Communities Agency (HCA) on strategic priorities for housing and regeneration.  The Board will also provide comment on the HCA’s and other bodies’ capital investment and support programmes to implement regional and local plans for economic growth, housing markets, infrastructure and place-shaping.

Chair & Vice Chairs

Cllr Barbara Janke, Chair, Bristol City Council Leader and Strategic Leaders Board
Ian Ducat, Vice-Chair, South West Regional Development Agency Board Member
Colin Molton, Vice-Chair, Homes and Communities Agency, Regional Director

Strategic Leaders’ Board Nominees

Housing Executive Members

Cllr John Brady Wiltshire Council, Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Planning and Housing
Cllr Elaine Atkinson, Borough of Poole Council, Portfolio Holder Well-being and Housing
Cllr Ric Pallister, South Somerset District Council, Portfolio Holder for Health, Housing, Inclusion and Revenue and Benefits
Cllr Neil Bent, Torbay Council, Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care
Cllr Venk Shenoi, Forest of Dean District Council, Planning and Housing Portfolio Holder
Cllr Matthew Riddle, South Gloucestershire Council, Community Care and Housing Portfolio Holder

Chief Executive Representatives

Barry Keel, Plymouth City Council, Chief Executive
Graham Turner, North Somerset Council, Chief Executive / Jan Ormondroyd, Bristol City Council,  Chief Executive (shared place)

Regional Development Agency Representatives

Cllr Cathy Bakewell, South West Regional Development Agency Board Member
Ian Piper,  South West Regional Development Agency, Director of Development & Regeneration

Stakeholder/Agency Representatives

Thoss Shearer, Government Office for the South West, Deputy Regional Director Regional Strategies
Stephen Hindley, Confederation of British Industry and Midas Group, Chief Executive
Stephen Wright, South West ACRE Network of Rural Community Councils , Regional Director
Ian Hutchcroft, Energy Saving Trust, Regional Manager
David Ashmore, National Housing Federation Regional Committee, Chair and Greensquare Group, Chief Executive
Catherine Brabner, National Housing Federation, Regional Manager 
Stuart Palmer,  Chartered Institute of Housing Regional Committee, Regional Policy Officer and Media Representative and Plymouth City Council, Assistant Director for Strategic Housing
John Slaughter, Home Builders Federation, Director of External Affairs
Michael Griffin, Home Builders Federation, South West Planning Committee Chair and Senior Land Manager, Barratt Homes
Professor Steve Wilcox, University of York, Professor of Housing Policy
Richard Cresswell, Environment Agency, Regional Director