Contact Us

Dennett House, 11 Middle Street
Taunton, Somerset, TA1 1SH

Find Us

Tel: 01823 270101                    
Email: info@swcouncils.gov.uk

The Team


SWRA Regional Spatial Planning and Transport Group Members and Papers

Following the Regional Assembly meeting on 13 July 2007, The Regional Spatial Planning and Transport Group has been superseded by two separate groups, the Regional Assembly Planning Group, and the Regional Transport Board. Please see the related articles shown at the bottom of this page.

Social Economic and Environmental Partners

Barry Griffiths BSc (Eng) MICE MIHT - Business
Nigel Hutchings - Business
Chris Irwin - Public Transport User Group
Cate Le Grice Mack - Environmental Bodies
Ian Ducat - Trade Unions
Howard Thomas - Environmental Bodies

Liberal Democrat

Dennis Brown - Bristol City Council
Dr John Cordwell - Gloucestershire County Council
Pat Hockey - South Gloucestershire Council
Hazel Prior-Sankey - Somerset County Council
Humphrey Temperley - Devon County Council


Mike Bawden - Swindon Borough Council
Angus Campbell - Dorset County Council
Dawn Hill - Sedgemoor District Council
Julian Johnson - Wiltshire County Council
Capt. John Lofts - Christchurch Borough Council
Duncan Smith - Cheltenham Borough Council


Helen Holland - Bristol City Council


Graham Facks-Martin - North Cornwall District Council

National Parks


In addition three seats on the Group have been offered to outside bodies as follows:
Sir Harry Studholme - South West RDA

Two seats to be occupied by representatives of the Statutory Environmental Bodies.

The Strategic Rail Authority and Highways Agency are often present to explain their organisations response or position on items for discussion.