Contact Us

Dennett House, 11 Middle Street
Taunton, Somerset, TA1 1SH

Find Us

Tel: 01823 270101                    
Email: info@swcouncils.gov.uk

The Team


Climate Change Task Group

In March 2007 the Regional Assembly agreed to lead on the production of a South West Climate Change Action Plan. Support was subsequently pledged by regional partners and a Regional Assembly Climate Change Task Group has been established. The Group will steer development of the South West Climate Change Action Plan and grapple with the difficult and complex solutions needed for practical action on climate change adaptation and critically, mitigation. From its first meeting in September the Group will begin to establish and agree the critical areas for action based on solid evidence and consideration of where priorities lie. Core areas for the Assembly to consider are transport, planning, housing and construction, waste and energy though Members will be considering the action needed across a very range of policy areas.

The Executive Committee holds overall responsibility for agreeing actions and making key decisions. Climate change issues also relate to the work of the Regional Futures Group, Regional Planning, Transport and Housing Groups and the required links will be made with the work of these other Members Groups during development of the Action Plan.
The Group is chaired by Mark Robins, (a Social Economic and Environmental Partner) and consists of 12 Assembly Members as detailed below:-


Mark Robins (Chair) - Environmental Bodies
John Matthews - Agriculture & Rural Business Sector
Cate Le-Grice Mack - Environmental Bodies
Jackie Longworth - Trade Union Sector

Liberal Democrats

Dr John Cordwell - Gloucestershire County Council
Edward Keating - North Somerset Council


Mike Bawden - Swindon Borough Council
Sara Randall-Johnson - East Devon District Council



In addition to the Regional Assembly Members above the following officers are invited to attend the Group:-
Nick Buckland (Deputy Chair) - South West Regional Development Agency
Mike Twomey - Government Office for the South West
Richard Cresswell - Environment Agency