Contact Us

Dennett House, 11 Middle Street
Taunton, Somerset, TA1 1SH

Find Us

Tel: 01823 270101                    
Email: info@swcouncils.gov.uk

The Team


Regional Planning Group Members and Papers

A Regional Assembly Planning Group was formed in 2007, taking over the planning role of the Regional Spatial Planning and Transport Group. The Transport function is now which has been superseded.  The Group will oversee delivery of the Regional Planning Body functions.  This will include the remaining stages of the Regional Spatial Strategy (RSS) until it is adopted with a strengthened focus on implementation and monitoring of the RSS, and review of the Regional Waste Strategy.  A key element will be working with local authorities to assist delivery, identifying good practice and promoting excellence, addressing sustainability issues and building links with other regions. The Group will also have a role in advising the Executive Committee to ensure integration between the spatial strategy and other strategies including transport, housing and economic strategy under the auspices of the Integrated Regional Strategy. 

The Group consists of 14 Assembly Members as well as wider membership from the Regional Development Agency Board and a representative from the Statutory Environment Bodies.


Nigel Hutchings - Business
Andy Moore - Housing
Stephen Wright - Voluntary & Community
Cate Le Grice Mack - Environment Sector

Liberal Democrat

Pat Hockey (Vice Chair) - South Gloucestershire Council
Edward Keating - North Somerset Council


Mike Bawden (Chair) - Swindon Borough Council
Julian Johnson - Wiltshire Council
Derek Davies - Tewkesbury Borough Council
John Lofts - Christchurch District Council / Dorset County Council


George Wheeler - Plymouth City Council

National Parks

Diana Kershaw - Exmoor National Park

Other Outside Body

Sir Harry Studholme - South West Regional Development Agency