Cllr John Hart re-elected Chair of South West Councils.

Release Date: Jul 12, 2017

Cllr John Hart was elected unanimously by Members representing authorities from across the South West at the South West Councils AGM on 11 July.  

Leader of Devon County Council, Cllr John Hart takes up a two year term as Chair, with support from other office holders also elected at the AGM: Deputy Chair, Cllr Stephen Jordan (Leader, Cheltenham Borough Council) and Vice Chairs, Cllrs Harvey Siggs (Leader, Mendip District Council); Cllr Helen Holland (Bristol City Council) and Cllr Philip Sanders (Leader, West Devon District Council)

SW Councils provides a democratic voice in the South West. Membership encompasses all 41 local authorities in the South West and has associate membership from fire and rescue services, police, parish and town councils and National Parks. The organisation brings together members to represent and promote the collective voice of the South West and share best practice.  The team also provides specialist Human Resources services and supports organisational learning and development.

On election John Hart said:

I am delighted to have been re-elected to chair South West Councils.

Over the last year we have worked hard to support the region and have been particularly active in lobbying to ensure a fair deal on the funding of social care in the South West, and we will continue to press Government on this issue which is the top priority for local authorities in the region. We will also continue to lobby on other areas of concern particularly infrastructure, housing and economic development which were identified as other key priorities in our recent customer survey”.  

Cllr John Hart, Chair with Cllr Steve Jordan, Deputy and one of the Vice Chairs Cllr Helen Holland
 Cllr John Hart, Chair with Cllr Steve Jordan, Deputy and one of the Vice Chairs Cllr Helen Holland